Motorsports News

2021 F1: Hamilton defeats Verstappen, overcomes penalty to win Brazil GP | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Revealed On Nov 15, 2021 11:20:00 AM

Lewis Hamilton received the Brazil GP from 10th on the grid, conserving the title battle alive.

Lewis Hamilton displayed one of many best drives of his profession on Sunday to take victory on the 2021 Brazil GP. The Mercedes driver charged up from 10th on the grid and battled wheel-to-wheel with title rival Max Verstappen to seal the win and hold the title battle going.

Valtteri Bottas accomplished the rostrum in third place.

  • Hamilton wins, 10.496 secs forward of Verstappen
  • Perez will get further level for quickest lap
  • Verstappen leads championship by 14 factors

Hamilton’s cost

Hamilton had the percentages stacked towards him. He was already hit with a five-place grid penalty for the race after an engine change      and was later disqualified      as a consequence of a technical infringement. The dash race noticed him go from lifeless final to fifth – an early indicator of his tempo on the Sao Paulo circuit.

On the race begin, Verstappen took the lead into Flip 2, whereas Bottas dropped down to 3rd. Similar to within the dash race, Hamilton made fast work of the drivers forward of him and was already as much as fifth place by Lap 4.

Bottas let his teammate by way of quickly after and Hamilton then set about making an attempt to cross Sergio Perez, which he did so on Lap 19. The following few laps constructed as much as an epic duel between the title contenders. 

By Lap 48, Hamilton had lastly closed in on Verstappen and tried a transfer at Flip 4, however was pushed off monitor by Verstappen, who himself went large. Whereas the incident was famous, stewards determined to not examine it and so the battle continued.

Hamilton lastly made the transfer stick on Lap 59 and went on to win the race by 10.49 seconds. He admitted that this was in all probability one of many hardest race weekends he’s confronted,      “What a race, the group did an incredible job, Valtteri did an excellent job right this moment to get as many factors as attainable,” he mentioned.      “I used to be pushing as exhausting as I may, however from final on the grid and once more one other five-place penalty, it was, I believe, the toughest weekend I’ve had.”

“Coming into this weekend, I by no means, ever thought that we’d be capable of shut the hole like now we have right this moment. After which this stuff that simply stored going towards us. However I believe it actually reveals, only for everybody, simply by no means quit no matter you’re going through,” he added.

Perez steals some extent

Bottas wasn’t fairly capable of catch as much as Verstappen and needed to accept third place. Perez completed fourth; Pink Bull pitted him late within the race and he used the contemporary gentle tyres to set the quickest lap. Crucially, in doing so, he stole the extra level from Hamilton.

The Ferrari duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz completed fifth and sixth respectively. Pierre Gasly took seventh for AlphaTauri. He was adopted by Esteban Ocon and Fernando Alonso, handing Alpine a double factors end.

McLaren’s Lando Norris recovered from a puncture on the opening lap to complete 10th, having nursed his tyres for effectively over 60 laps.

2021 F1championship standings

Hamilton has slashed Verstappen’s championship lead from 21 to 14 factors. In the meantime within the constructors’ championship, Mercedes at the moment are 11 factors forward of Pink Bull Racing.

Up subsequent, is the first-ever F1 race at Qatar, going down on November 21.

2021 Brazil GP outcomes

2021 Brazil GP outcomes
Pos Driver Workforce
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Max Verstappen Pink Bull Racing
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
4 Sergio Perez Pink Bull Racing
5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari
7 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri
8 Esteban Ocon Alpine
9 Fernando Alonso Alpine
10 Lando Norris McLaren
11 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin
12 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo
13 George Russell Williams
14 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo
15 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
16 Nicholas Latifi Williams
17 Nikita Mazepin Haas
18 Mick Schumacher Haas
NC Daniel Ricciardo McLaren
NC Lance Stroll Aston Martin

About the author