Motorsports News

2021 INRC: Gill overcomes woes to win Karnataka-1000 Rally | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

A broken windscreen, electrical and turbo points, and a brake failure didn’t cease Gaurav Gill from profitable Spherical 2 of the 2021 INRC.

Gaurav Gill and co-driver Musa Sherif returned to profitable kind on the Karnataka-1000 Rally – Spherical 2 of the 2021 Indian Nationwide Rally Championship (INRC). But it surely was removed from a straightforward win for the skilled pair, as they encountered a collection of mechanical points.

The occasion returned after a two-year break because of the pandemic and noticed a complete of 53 entries.

  • Gill scores seventh Karnataka-1000 Rally win
  • Sherif reached 300 rally milestone
  • Ahmer and Thakur prime INRC-2 and INRC-3

Gill and Sherif win 2021 INRC Spherical 2

Seven-time INRC and three-time Asia Pacific Rally champion Gill was unable to finish the opening spherical in Coimbatore final month. With the delayed 2021 INRC shortened to simply three rounds, he knew bagging victory in Karnataka could be essential.

It was a tough first day as Gill’s Mahindra XUV300 encountered electrical and turbo points, however he was nonetheless in a position to safe the general lead. The subsequent day, too, he needed to run the final part of the rally with none brakes. However he eked out simply sufficient to win the occasion, 15 seconds forward of Younus Ilyas and co-driver Anirudha Ranganekar.

The victory marked Gill’s seventh Karnataka-1000 Rally win and it was additionally the proper means for Sherif to wrap up his 300th rally milestone.

“Undoubtedly, at present’s win may be very satisfying, contemplating the tough weekend we had and the non-finish within the Coimbatore spherical. We had electrical issues, a broken windscreen when the bonnet flew open within the very first Stage. So, we misplaced a little bit of time as we needed to cease and lock the bonnet. Then, within the final Stage, I needed to negotiate the final six-seven kilometres with out brakes, which once more price us time. However in the long run, I’m completely satisfied we completed the rally and gained,” mentioned Gill.

One other INRC-Three win for Thakur

Fabid Ahmer and co-driver Sanath G topped the INRC-2 class, whereas Rally of Coimbatore winners Aditya Thakur and Virender Kashyap gained within the INRC-Three class.

The mother-daughter pair of Shivani and Vani Parmar gained within the INRC-Four class. The Junior INRC class had simply two finishers, with Raghuram Saminathan and Bharath SM profitable forward of Shivani Pruthvi and Ruthvik Praveen.

Samrat Yadav and co-driver M Chandrashekar gained within the non-championship FMSCI Gypsy Problem class.

The ultimate spherical, the well-known South India Rally, will now happen from March 25-27.

About the author