Motorsports News

2021 INRC: Karna Kadur wins South India Rally, APRC Spherical 1 | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Aditya Thakur and co-driver Virender Kashyap emerged because the 2021 INRC champions, however the end result continues to be provisional.

The South India Rally in Chennai doubled up as the ultimate spherical of the 2021 Indian Nationwide Rally Championship (INRC) in addition to the opening spherical of the 2022 FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC). Arka Motorsports’ Karna Kadur and co-driver Nikhil Pai gained each occasions, as Gaurav Gill and Musa Sherif retired with a mechanical failure.

Chettinad Sporting’s Aditya Thakur and co-driver Virender Kashyap have been additionally topped INRC champions. Nevertheless, that is simply provisional, topic to the result of an attraction pending earlier than the Indian Motor Sports activities Enchantment Courtroom. The 2021 version of the INRC spilled over into 2022 attributable to a number of COVID-19 associated delays. Because of this, the championship was shortened to only three rounds.

  • South India Rally hosts INRC finale and 2022 APRC Spherical 1
  • Gill 2nd in APRC Spherical 1, however misses out on INRC title
  • Aditya Thakur named provisional INRC champion

Karna Kadur wins 2022 APRC Spherical 1

The APRC returned to India after a four-year hole; the occasion additionally marked the grand return of the championship itself, which had been on hiatus for 2 years attributable to COVID-19. 4 INRC driver pairs contested Spherical 1 – Three-time APRC champion Gaurav Gill (co-driver Musa Sherif), Karna Kadur (co-driver Nikhil Pai) of Arka Motorsports, Amittrajit Ghosh (co-driver Ashwin Naik) and Younus Ilyas (co-driver Anirudha Ranganekar) of Race Ideas.

On the again of his Karnataka-1000 Rally victory, Gill was additionally a favorite for the INRC title. Nevertheless, in a flashback of what occurred within the Rally of Coimbatore, his Mahindra XUV300 was struck down by a mechanical failure forcing him to retire early. This handed the result in Kadur, who himself survived a puncture and broken windscreen on his Volkswagen Polo.

Kadur survived one other scare on the ultimate day when the door of his Polo’s baggage boot sprung open. However he got here by means of comparatively unscathed to assert his first-ever win in a global occasion. “That is my first win since 2018 and I’m very comfortable to interrupt a jinx. Additionally, that is my first win in Chennai and the APRC victory additionally, and I can’t ask for something higher. As at all times, there’s last-minute drama in the present day with lower-arm bush coming out, however we have been fortunate to complete. We’ve learnt quite a bit within the final two rallies,” he stated.

Gill returned the following day and ended up successful all of the levels he participated in. With each Ghosh and Ilyas struggling mechanical failures themselves, Gill was positioned second within the APRC standings. He additionally plans to compete within the upcoming Japan and Australia legs of the APRC.

Aditya Thakur provisionally topped INRC champion

Kadur concurrently gained Spherical three of the INRC. Nevertheless, since he was unable to complete the final two rounds, he wasn’t in competition for the general title. A 3rd place end result and victory within the INRC3 class was sufficient at hand Aditya Thakur and co-driver Virender Kashyap the title. Thakur, a farmer from Himachal Pradesh, had earlier taken a shock win within the opening spherical of the championship.

Nevertheless, the result’s solely provisional, as there’s an attraction pending earlier than the Indian Motor Sports activities Enchantment Courtroom. “Proper now, I can’t categorical how comfortable I’m in the present day, it’s a dream come true. I by no means anticipated to turn into a Nationwide champion in such a short while after making my INRC debut in 2018. There are such a lot of feelings and ideas going by means of my thoughts. An enormous because of my co-driver Virender who’s at all times spot-on. I need to thank MRF Tyres and Volkswagen Motorsport for all of the assist,” Thakur stated.

As for the remaining lessons within the South India Rally, Dean Mascarenhas (co-driver: Gagan Karumbaiah) gained in INRC2, Mujeeb Rehman (co-driver: Ravindra Kumar) gained in INRC-4, Pragati Gowda (co-driver: Trisha Alonkar) gained in Junior INRC and Samrat Yadav (co-driver: M Chandrashekar) gained within the FMSCI Gypsy Problem.


About the author