Motorsports News

2022 INRC: Karna Kadur continues South India Rally victory streak | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Karna Kadur ended up clinching back-to-back wins as Gaurav Gill was stricken by mechanical woes once more.

The Indian Nationwide Rally Championship is again for its 2022 season, only a month after the delayed 2021 season wrapped up in March. This gave the South India Rally two back-to-back runs – it hosted the 2021 finale in March, and now, the 2022 season-opener in April.

Arka Motorsports’ Karna Kadur and co-driver Nikhil Pai, who gained right here final month as properly, continued their victory streak after a titanic battle with Dean Mascarenhas (co-driver Gagan Karumbaiah).

  • Mascarenhas disqualified for technical infringement
  • Aditya Thakur wins in INRC-2 class

Kadur wins 2022 South India Rally

Kadur and Mascarenhas battled it out all through the two-day rally. Kadur held the higher hand on the finish of the primary leg, however heading into the ultimate stage, a slender 1.7sec margin separated the 2. Kadur edged out Mascarenhas to take general victory, in addition to prime honours within the INRC-1 class.

“It was an in depth end and we’re joyful to win,” mentioned Kadur. “We had some ongoing points over the weekend, however we managed to nurse the automobile to the end as we had no time to type out or work out the issues.”

Early exit for Gill

Regardless of promising tempo, three-time Asia Pacific Rally Champion Gaurav Gill’s 2021 season was marred by mechanical woes. Sadly, the identical points plagued the rally-spec Mahindra XUV300 this time round as properly.

Gill and co-driver Musa Sherif had been pressured to retire after simply two phases. “The drive shaft received twisted in SS-2 (Stage 2), only a kilometre earlier than the end, perhaps on account of metallic fatigue,” defined Gill. “However the automobile was dealing with good until then. We additionally examined a brand new set of tyres on all of the vehicles and we had been doing three tenths of a second quicker and the efficiency of the JK Tyres was actually good.”

Six rivals disqualified

Put up-event scrutinising resulted within the stewards disqualifying six rivals whose vehicles didn’t adjust to technical laws. Mascarenhas was amongst these disqualified, and this promoted reigning INRC champions Aditya Thakur and co-driver Virender Kashyap to second place general. The Chettinad Sporting duo, who competed within the INRC-Three class final season, have now made the step as much as INRC-2 and took victory in that class as properly.

INRC-Three and Junior INRC winner on floor, Jahaan Singh Gill, was additionally disqualified. This handed Kuber Sharma and co-driver Kunal Kashyap INRC-Three victory. Shivani Pruthvi and co-driver Deepti Pruthvi gained within the Junior INRC class, which solely noticed two finishers.

The INRC-Four class ended up having only one finisher, with Rupesh Kholay and co-driver Varun Satyanarayan taking class victory by default. And eventually, Himamshu Arora and co-driver Vikram Thakur gained the Gypsy Cup.

About the author