Motorsports News

215hp Volkswagen Virtus ITC race automobile revealed | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Volkswagen’s new Indian Touring Vehicles racer includes a tuned 1.5-litre TSI making 215hp, lowered trip peak and extra.

Volkswagen Motorsport India’s newest race automobile is predicated on the Virtus sedan. Constructed particularly for the Indian Touring Vehicles (ITC) class of the MRF Indian Nationwide Automotive Racing Championship, the brand new Virtus ITC racer replaces the Vento ITC.

  • 1.5 TSI tuned to place out 215hp, 300Nm
  • 6-speed sequential gearbox
  • Bigger 17-inch alloys with MRF tyres

Volkswagen Virtus ITC race automobile: what’s totally different?

Volkswagen’s 1.5 TSI engine has made its motorsport debut on the Virtus ITC racer. It will get a major energy increase, placing out 215hp and 300Nm. The inventory Virtus GT 1.5 TSI, in the meantime, makes 150hp and 250Nm.

Whereas the Virtus GT 1.5 TSI is obtainable with a 7-speed dual-clutch computerized transmission, the race-prepped model makes use of a 6-speed sequential racing gearbox that sends energy to the entrance wheels. The primary set of pictures reveals some extra modifications as effectively, noticeably the decrease trip peak and bigger 17-inch alloys with MRF tyres.

In fact, quite a lot of modifications have been made on the protection entrance as effectively, to make sure the automobile adheres to the ITC rules. This contains the addition of FIA-certified racing seats, six-point racing harness, roll cage and an on-board hearth extinguisher. The stripped-down inside reduces the race automobile’s weight to 1,080kg (in comparison with the inventory guide’s 1,275kg).

Volkswagen Virtus ITC racing debut

The brand new Virtus ITC will likely be competing within the upcoming 2022 version of the MRF Indian Nationwide Automotive Racing Championship, Spherical 1 of which will likely be held at Chennai’s Madras Worldwide Circuit On October 7-9.

Two skilled racers will likely be piloting the automobile for Volkswagen Motorsport India – Sandeep Kumar, the final Volkswagen Polo Cup champion, and Jeet Jhabakh, the final Ameo Cup champion.

About the author