Motorsports News

Bastianini wins Aragon MotoGP as Quartararo crashes out | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Quartararo’s lead has been slashed to simply 10 factors following his crash with the returning Marc Marquez.

Enea Bastianini handed Francesco Bagnaia on the final lap to win the Aragon GP, however that was removed from the one speaking level in a race that might show to be a pivotal turning level within the 2022 MotoGP championship.

Fabio Quartararo crashed out on the opening lap itself after contact with Marc Marquez, who made his racing return after practically 4 months. Consequently, the Yamaha rider’s championship lead has been slashed to simply 10 factors.

  • Bastianini wins, 0.042 sec from Bagnaia
  • Quartararo out after crash with Marquez
  • Aleix Espargaro on podium

Quartararo and Marquez collide

All eyes have been on Marquez as he made his MotoGP comeback following a fourth surgical procedure on his proper arm, however the Spaniard retired on the finish of Lap 1 after being concerned in two separate collisions.

As Bagnaia led from pole place, Marquez made a fast begin from 13th on the grid. He was already as much as sixth place when he caught a rear slide exiting Flip Three and closed the throttle. This caught Quartararo unawares, and he rammed into Marquez’s bike.

The Yamaha rider was out of the race on the spot, and whereas Marquez was in a position to proceed, his Honda RC213V sustained injury. Only a few corners later, he made contact with Takaaki Nakagami, sending the LCR Honda rider sliding throughout the monitor. Marquez himself pulled into the pits to retire on the finish of the opening lap.

Bastianini defeats Bagnaia

Out at entrance, Ducati’s future rider pairing battled it out for victory. Bastianini handed Bagnaia at Flip 1 on Lap 9, however outbraked himself on the following lap, handing the lead again to Bagnaia.

Bastianini began making use of strain within the closing laps, and on the final lap, he pulled off a transfer on the tight Flip 7. He ended up profitable the race simply 0.042 secs, denying Bagnaia a fifth straight victory.

Aleix Espargaro landed the ultimate spot on the rostrum after passing Brad Binder, whereas Jack Miller completed fifth. Jorge Martin emerged on high of his battle with fellow Ducati rider Luca Marini to take sixth place. Johann Zarco, Alex Rins and Marco Bezzecchi accomplished the highest 10.

Ducati win constructors’ championship

With simply 5 rounds to go, the drivers’ championship battle has really heated up. Bagnaia’s current kind has seen him steadily chip away at Quartararo’s lead, and with the French rider unable to attain any factors on the Aragon GP, there are simply 10 factors separating him and Bagnaia.

However, the constructors’ championship has already been wrapped up with Ducati taking house the title for the third yr in a row.

2022 Aragon MotoGP outcomes

2022 Aragon MotoGP outcomes
Pos Rider Staff
1 Enea Bastianini Gresini Racing
2 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati
3 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia
4 Brad Binder KTM
5 Jack Miller Ducati
6 Jorge Martin Pramac Racing
7 Luca Marini Mooney VR46 Racing
8 Johann Zarco Pramac Racing
9 Alex Rins Suzuki
10 Marco Bezzecchi Mooney VR46 Racing Staff
11 Miguel Oliveira KTM
12 Alex Marquez LCR Honda
13 Maverick Vinales Aprilia
14 Cal Crutchlow WithU Yamaha RNF
15 Pol Espargaro Repsol Honda
16 Remy Gardner Tech3 KTM
17 Franco Morbidelli Yamaha
18 Darryn Binder WithU Yamaha RNF
19 Fabio Di Giannantonio Gresini Racing
20 Raul Fernandez Tech3 KTM
NC Marc Marquez Repsol Honda
NC Takaaki Nakagami LCR Honda
NC Fabio Quartararo Yamaha

About the author