Motorsports News

ew Indian Racing League dates introduced; System Regional, F4 India postponed | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

5 city-based groups will compete within the Indian Racing League this 12 months; debut at Hyderabad Road Circuit.

The debut of the System Regional and F4 Indian championships has been postponed as soon as once more, with organisers citing “logistical challenges” as the rationale. Nevertheless, the Indian Racing League will go forward as deliberate and an all-new calendar has been introduced for a similar, that includes 4 rounds.

  • System Regional, F4 India pushed to 2023
  • Four rounds in Hyderabad, Chennai for Indian Racing League
  • Neel Jani, Oliver James Webb signed

System Regional, F4 India delayed

Plans for India’s first FIA-graded F3 championship have been introduced final 12 months. Along with F4 India and the Indian Racing League, it’s meant to determine a structured ladder for younger racers to interrupt into the worldwide racing scene.

It was massive information for the Indian motorsport neighborhood, much more so as a result of each System Regional and F4 India are purported to be eligible for Tremendous Licence factors (drivers want to gather 40 Tremendous Licence factors to qualify to race in F1). Nevertheless, pandemic-related delays pressured the season to be pushed from its preliminary February 2022 debut to November 2022.

The collection’ organiser, Racing Promotions, has now confirmed that System Regional and F4 India received’t be happening this 12 months. The debut of each championships has now been pushed to 2023. “System Regional and System Four can be a part of the schedule subsequent 12 months on account of logistical challenges that got here up this 12 months,” in line with an official assertion.

Indian Racing League: Calendar

The Indian Racing League – primarily a revamped model of the X1 Racing League – will go forward this 12 months, although. The primary spherical will see a race being held for the primary time on the Hyderabad Road Circuit, which is able to host India’s first-ever System E race subsequent 12 months. That can be adopted by two rounds on the Madras Worldwide Circuit, earlier than the grid returns to Hyderabad for the finale.

Notably, the Buddh Worldwide Circuit and Kari Motor Speedway – which have been a part of the sooner calendar – don’t characteristic on the revised one.

2022 Indian Racing League calendar
Spherical Date Venue
Pre-season check November 14 Madras Worldwide Circuit
Spherical 1 November 19-20 Hyderabad Road Circuit
Spherical 2 November 25-27 Madras Worldwide Circuit
Spherical 3 December 2-4 Madras Worldwide Circuit
Spherical 4 December 10-11 Hyderabad Road Circuit

Indian Racing League: Groups and driver line-up

The Indian Racing League follows the same franchise format to the X1 Racing League. 5 city-based groups will compete in opposition to one another and every workforce will characteristic a mixture of worldwide and Indian drivers. Groups may even subject one feminine driver every. The league has realized some vital classes from its inaugural season and this time round, it’ll use single-seaters constructed by Italian constructor Wolf.

Numerous distinguished worldwide names have been signed on, together with 2016 Le Mans 24 Hours winner Neel Jani and 2014 European Le Mans Collection champion Oliver James Webb. Regulars within the Indian racing scene – equivalent to Vishnu Prasad, Shahan Ali Mohsin and Anindith Reddy – are additionally a part of the grid, together with European GT4 racer Akhil Rabindra.

2022 Indian Racing League: Groups and drivers
Group Driver Driver Driver Driver
Hyderabad Blackbirds Neel Jani Akhil Rabindra Anindith Reddy Lola Lovinsfosse
Goa Aces Raoul Hyman Sohil Shah Amir Syed Gabriela Jilkova
Chennai Turbo Riders Jon Lancaster Parth Ghorpade Vishnu Prasad Nicole Havrda
Bangalore Speedsters Oliver Webb Anshul Gandhi Rishon Rajeev Emily Duggan
Pace Demons Delhi Mitch Gilbert Akash Gowda Shahaan Ali Mohsin Celia Martin

About the author