Motorsports News

F1 2022: Leclerc wins Australian GP as Verstappen retires | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Sergio Perez completed second, adopted by George Russell.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc picked up his second win of the 2022 F1 season with a dominant show in Melbourne. In the meantime Pink Bull Racing’s reliability woes continued, with reigning world champion Max Verstappen struggling his second retirement in three races. This promoted his teammate Sergio Perez to second, adopted by Mercedes’ George Russell in third.

  • Leclerc wins, 20.524 secs forward of Perez
  • Verstappen suffers second DNF in three races
  • Albon goes from final to 10th

Leclerc claims dominant Australian GP win

Leclerc needed to defend his lead by two security automotive restarts – the primary after his Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz spun out on Lap 2 and one other after Sebastian Vettel crashed on Lap 23. Verstappen’s retirement allowed him to take a reasonably comfy lights-to-flag win and additional lengthen his championship lead.

He additionally scored Ferrari’s first ‘grand slam’ since Singapore 2010, by bagging pole place, quickest lap and main each single lap of the race on track to victory. “Truthfully, what a automotive at the moment. In fact, I did [well] all weekend however it was not attainable with out the automotive. And this weekend particularly within the race tempo we had been extraordinarily robust. Tyres felt nice from the primary lap to the final lap, we had been managing the tyres extraordinarily nicely and I’m simply so completely happy,” rejoiced Leclerc.

The Monegasque has received two out of the three races up to now this 12 months, however he isn’t trying on the general championship simply but. “Clearly we’re solely on the third race, so tough to consider the championship, however to be sincere we’ve a really robust automotive and a really dependable automotive too. So I hope it continues and if it does we in all probability have possibilities for the championship,” he added.

Verstappen suffers second DNF

Verstappen’s title bid took one other blow as Pink Bull informed him to cease his smoking RB18 on Lap 39. On the again of this and his Bahrain GP retirement, he solely has 25 factors on board and is 46 factors behind Leclerc within the championship.

The rationale for Verstappen’s retirement continues to be unknown, however reliability was an early concern with Pink Bull mechanics seen working onerous on his automotive on the grid.

With Verstappen out of the race, Sergio Perez took second place. Russell gained a handful of locations after a well-timed pitstop underneath the second Security Automotive, and went on to bag the ultimate podium spot. He was adopted by Lewis Hamilton in fourth, serving to Mercedes as soon as once more outscore Pink Bull within the constructors’ battle.

Albon pulls off daring technique to complete P10

McLaren confirmed improved type in Australia, however Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo nonetheless completed a distant fifth and sixth. They had been adopted by Alpine’s Esteban Ocon, Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas and AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly.

Alex Albon’s cost from final to 10th was one other spotlight of the race. The Williams racer was one of many few drivers to begin on the onerous tyres. He ran a mammoth 57 laps on these tyres, earlier than pitting on the final lap to attain Williams’ first level this season.

F1 2022 championship standings

Leclerc holds a 34-point lead within the championship now. Pink Bull’s poor reliability has promoted Russell to second place within the standings with 37 factors, 5 factors forward of Carlos Sainz.

The following F1 race would be the Emilia Romagna GP at Imola on April 24.

2022 Australian GP outcomes

2022 Australian GP outcomes
Pos Driver Crew
1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
2 Sergio Perez Pink Bull Racing
3 George Russell Mercedes
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
5 Lando Norris McLaren
6 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren
7 Esteban Ocon Alpine
8 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
9 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri
10 Alex Albon Williams
11 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo
12 Lance Stroll Aston Martin
13 Mick Schumacher Haas
14 Kevin Magnussen Haas
15 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
16 Nicholas Latifi Williams
17 Fernando Alonso Alpine
DNF Max Verstappen Pink Bull Racing
DNF Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin
DNF Carlos Sainz Ferrari

About the author