Motorsports News

MRF scores maiden European Rally Championship win | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Efrén Llarena and co-driver Sara Fernández, driving a Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo, gained the 2022 Azores Rallye.

Group MRF Tyres secured their first-ever victory within the European Rally Championship (ERC), with Efrén Llarena and co-driver Sara Fernández successful the Azores Rallye in Portugal. The rally served as Spherical 2 of the 2022 ERC.

·         Llarena made up 6.1 seconds within the closing stage

·         Positioned second in general championship

MRF wins 2022 Azores Rallye

The Azores Rallye passed off in unpredictable climate, with a mixture of torrential rain in addition to clear skies. Simply earlier than the ultimate day, Llarena and Fernández, driving a Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo, had been as much as third general. They quickly moved as much as second place, however nonetheless wanted to make up round 6.1 seconds within the closing stage.

The Spanish duo clinched the highest podium spot from Portuguese driver Ricardo Maura on the final stage to win the rally. They’re now second general within the championship standings.

“It’s superb. I can not describe the sensation of taking my first win on the European Rally Championship and the primary for the Group MRF Tyres. We knew we needed to push arduous, and I knew if we pushed something was potential. It’s superb how the MRF tyres carried out. The tyres gave me confidence to push for the victory. I need to thank everybody at Group MRF Tyres who made this potential. I’m actually proud to have the ability to carry this victory residence,” mentioned Llarena.

The Indian group’s different two driver pairs additionally completed within the prime 10. Simone Campedelli and Tania Canton overcame technical points to complete seventh, whereas Norbert Herczig and Igor Bacigál had been eighth. Igor Widlak and Daniel Dymurski additionally completed second within the ERC3 class.

MRF in worldwide rallying

MRF Tyres’ maiden ERC victory comes simply over two years because it made its championship debut in 2020. The Indian tyre producer has loved a string of success in worldwide rallying these days, with Llarena and Fernández not too long ago additionally successful the opening spherical of the 2022 Spanish Rally Championship.

Late final yr, the group additionally took prime honours within the 2021 Italian Rally Championship-Gravel.


About the author