Motorsports News

Peru Irazola Arbulu wins 2022 Pink Bull Ace of Dust | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Shardul Sharma was the very best rating Indian rider on the 2022 Pink Bull Ace of Dust, which featured new obstacles and worldwide riders for the primary time.

Spanish rider Peru Irazola Arbulu emerged because the winner of the third version of the Pink Bull Ace of Dust, which was held on the Large Rock Dirtpark close to Bengaluru. SuperEnduro world champion Sandra Gomez was second, whereas Shardul Sharma was the very best rating Indian rider.

  • Arbulu wins forward of Gomez and Sharma
  • 2021 Dakar Malle Moto winner Gelazninkas participated as nicely

2022 Pink Bull Ace of Dust:course format

One of many important highlights of the Pink Bull Ace of Dust is the course, which consists of Motocross, Enduro and Dust monitor sections. The 1.2km lengthy course was designed by rally ace CS Santosh, and this 12 months it featured a lot of new obstacles to make it as difficult as attainable.

Among the noteworthy obstacles included the Mud Pie – a steep downhill slope with a puddle of slush on the backside adopted by a steep uphill climb, the Splatter – a near-vertical climb adopted by tractor tyres set in staggering sizes, and the newly added Wall Trip, which is mainly a wall positioned at a 45-degree angle, proper subsequent to a mattress of rocks, so the rider has to both select the wall or the rocks. CS Santosh had earlier described the course as one which “mimics the necessities which can be wanted for an athlete to finish a rally like Dakar”.

2022 Pink Bull Ace of Dust: worldwide riders

The variety of members doubled to over 60 this 12 months. For the primary time ever, worldwide riders like SuperEnduro world champion Sandra Gomez and 2021 Dakar Malle Moto winner Arunaz Gelazninkas participated as nicely. This gave Indian riders the possibility to compete towards and be taught from among the greatest worldwide expertise. Moreover, Hero MotoSports’ rally racer and Dakar stage winner Joaquim Rodrigues was additionally current to information all members.

A lot of the rivals had been driving Hero XPulse 200s or Impulses.

2022 Pink Bull Ace of Dust: Peru Arbulu takes victory

On the primary day of the occasion, the riders had been divided into batches of 10 and the 5 quickest riders from every batch progressed to the mega remaining the following day. The 36 remaining riders then competed throughout 4 totally different heats to make it to the highest 16.

Spanish enduro rider Peru Irazola Arbulu set the quickest time of 18minutes 49.578secs to take total victory. Gomez got here second with 21minutes 59.117secs. Shardul Sharma from Uttarakhand bagged the ultimate podium spot, with a time of 22minutes 49.156secs. Prior Pink Bull Ace of Dust winners Yuva Kumar and Mahesh VM additionally participated this 12 months and completed seventh and 10th, respectively.

Talking in regards to the occasion, CS Santosh stated, “It’s the primary time that we had a format of racing like this, which is enduro and exhausting enduro merged into one. That is additionally the primary time we had participation from stellar worldwide riders, together with Sandra Gomez, World Champion in Enduro, and Dakar Malle Moto winner Arunaz Gelazninkas. I believe the race was spectacular, everybody was so excited and learnt tremendously from athletes like these after which competing on a course that was in contrast to the rest in India and giving them the likelihood to expertise this.”

“It’s just about the toughest motorbike race we have now in India, additionally in a format which may assist a rider enhance expertise she or he may want, as a result of Dakar is a kind of sorts of races. Wanting ahead to constructing this from right here and it’s going to maintain shifting upwards,” he added.

About the author