Motorsports News

Toyota wins Le Mans for fifth 12 months operating | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Ryo Hirakawa gained the 2022 Le Mans 24 Hours within the No. eight Toyota.

Toyota scored its fifth consecutive victory on the 24 Hours of Le Mans, with the No. eight crew of Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Ryo Hirakawa successful the 2022 version of the enduring endurance racing occasion. That is the primary time a manufacturing facility producer has secured 5 straight wins at Le Mans since Ferrari achieved this feat between 1960 and 1964.

  • Toyota wins 1-2 as Alpine hits hassle
  • Porsche defeats Ferrari for LMGTE Professional win

Hypercar: 1-2 for Toyota

Toyota by no means actually confronted a problem from Glickenhaus and Alpine all through the 24 hour race. As a substitute, the No. eight and No. 7 automobiles swapped the lead a number of occasions. The No. 7 crew had a short scare when Jose Maria Lopez stopped on observe and needed to carry out a full system reset. This allowed Hartley to take the lead within the No. eight Toyota.

By the point Lopez was out and in of the pits, the No. 7 automotive (shared by Lopez, Mike Conway and Kamui Kobayashi) was over a lap down. This gave the No. eight automotive a transparent run to victory – Buemi claiming his fourth Le Mans win, Hartley his third and Hirakawa successful at Le Mans for the primary time. The No. 7 Toyota did make up a while and completed 2mins 1.222secs off the lead.

With double factors at Le Mans, each Toyota crews additionally accumulate some much-needed factors after a rocky begin to the 2022 World Endurance Championship. Lopez crashed out of the Sebring season-opener, whereas the No. eight automotive suffered a hybrid challenge at Spa.

Glickenhaus completed third and fourth, respectively. The No. 709 crew of Ryan Briscoe, Franck Mailleux and Richard Westbrook needed to make an early, unscheduled pit cease for a sensor change, however they fought again up the order to safe the ultimate podium spot.

A clutch challenge, an accident and different smaller points meant the only real Alpine entry might solely handle ending 23rd.

LMP2: JOTA takes victory

Antonio Felix da Costa, Roberto Gonzalez and Will Stevens within the No. 38 JOTA dominated the LMP2 discipline from early on to take class victory. The automotive took the lead after the primary spherical of pit stops and there was no trying again from then on.

The No. 9 Prema Orlen automotive of Robert Kubica, Louis Deletraz and Lorenzo Colombo was second, adopted by JOTA’s second entry – the No. 28 crew of Ed Jones, Oliver Rasmussen and Jonathan Aberdein.

LMGTE Professional: Porsche beats Ferrari

Frederic Makowiecki, Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz took a hard-fought victory within the LMGTE Professional class. This handed Porsche its first Le Mans LMGTE Professional win since 2018, and it was additionally the Porsche GT Crew’s 20th win within the World Endurance Championship.

The LMGTE Professional class proved to be aggressive with all three producers – Porsche, Ferrari and Corvette – main sooner or later.

With each Corvettes out of the race, the battle for victory was all the way down to the No. 91 Porsche 911 RSR-19 and the No. 51 AF Corse Ferrari. Alessandro Pier Guidi needed to pit to repair a rear-right puncture, permitting the No. 91 crew to take the lead, and finally, class victory.

Miguel Molina, Davide Rigon and Antonio Fuoco completed third within the No. 52 AF Corse Ferrari.

LMGTE Am: TF Sport win

The No. 33 TF Sport Aston Martin Vantage of Ben Keating, Marco Sorensen and Henrique Chaves took the lead from the No. 70 WeatherTech Porsche 911 RSR-19 early on Sunday and went on to seal victory.

There have been two Aston Martin crews on the rostrum, with the No. 98 Northwest AMR of Paul Dalla Lana, Nicki Thiim and David Pittard taking third place.

About the author