Motorsports News

Verstappen wins Belgian GP, charging from 14th on grid | Autocar India

Written by Gulati

Perez and Sainz full podium; penalty drops Leclerc to sixth.

F1 summer time break is over, and Max Verstappen nonetheless stays unbeatable because the 2022 season resumed at Spa. The Crimson Bull Racing driver took a dominant Belgian GP victory, regardless of ranging from 14th on the grid as a consequence of energy unit penalties.

Sergio Perez completed second, handing Crimson Bull a 1-2 end. Carlos Sainz accomplished the rostrum for Ferrari, however the Italian group was most likely left shocked by Mercedes’ sudden present of tempo within the race.

  • Verstappen wins 17.841 secs from Perez
  • Leads championship by 93 factors
  • Leclerc handed penalty for dashing in pit lane

Verstappen dominates in Spa

It was fairly a combined beginning grid for the Belgian GP, with quite a few frontrunners – together with Verstappen and Charles Leclerc – being handed grid penalties for taking new energy unit and gearbox parts.  In consequence, Sainz began from pole, forward of Perez, Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso.

The opening laps noticed loads of drama as Hamilton and Alonso made contact on Lap 1, resulting in Hamilton’s retirement. Valtteri Bottas joined him a lap later after contact with Nicholas Latifi. All of this allowed Sergio Perez to climb again as much as second place, however the ensuing Security Automotive additionally bunched up the sector, solely additional serving to Verstappen. Leclerc needed to pit beneath the Security Automotive after a visor tear-off ended up caught in his brake duct.

It took Verstappen solely 18 laps to go from P14 to P1, as he zoomed previous Sainz down the straight. The Dutchman delivered a masterclass to turn into the primary driver to win the Belgian GP from P14 or decrease since Michael Schumacher in 1995. His teammate Perez completed a hefty 17.841 seconds behind in second place.

“It was fairly a busy first lap to try to keep out of bother. So many issues have been taking place in entrance of me. However as soon as we settled in after the Security Automotive, the automobile was actually on rails. We picked the appropriate locations to cross individuals and we might take care of our tyres and that’s how we made our manner ahead. After that, as soon as we have been within the lead it was all about managing every little thing, however this entire weekend has been unimaginable. It’s been a weekend I couldn’t think about earlier than, however I feel we would like extra of them, so [we] hold working exhausting!” rejoiced Verstappen.

Mercedes’ improved kind; penalty for Leclerc

Toto Wolff had labeled Mercedes’ qualifying efficiency because the group’s “worst in 10 years. That most likely made Russell’s efficiency all of the extra shocking. Not solely did he handle to cross Leclerc on monitor, however he saved Sainz inside attain for a major chunk of the race, placing Ferrari’s podium place beneath severe risk. He ended up ending fourth, simply over two seconds behind Sainz.

Ferrari referred to as Leclerc in for a late pit cease in a bid to set the quickest lap on gentle tyres and acquire an additional level. However issues didn’t precisely go to plan as he was handed by Alonso. Leclerc managed to re-take the place, however was handed a five-second penalty for dashing within the pit lane, dropping him to sixth place behind Alonso.

Ocon completed seventh, adopted by Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel, AlphaTauri’s Pierre Gasly and Williams’ Alexander Albon.

2022 F1 championship standings

Having gained 9 out of 14 races thus far this season, Verstappen now holds a 93 factors lead over Perez within the championship. Leclerc drops a spot within the standings and is now 98 factors off the lead.

Subsequent up is the Dutch GP on September 4.

2022 Belgian GP outcomes

2022 Belgian GP outcomes
Pos Driver Staff
1 Max Verstappen Crimson Bull Racing
2 Sergio Perez Crimson Bull Racing
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari
4 George Russell Mercedes
5 Fernando Alonso Alpine
6 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
7 Esteban Ocon Alpine
8 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin
9 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri
10 Alexander Albon Williams
11 Lance Stroll Aston Martin
12 Lando Norris McLaren
13 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
14 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo
15 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren
16 Kevin Magnussen Haas
17 Mick Schumacher Haas
18 Nicholas Latifi Williams
19 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
20 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes

About the author